Conferences Portal

Conferences: Background history

February 2017:  The network has developed through cross-institutional collaborations and inspirational leadership beginning with the Pro-Chancellor of Sri Ramswaroop Memorial University, Lucknow, Mrs Pooja Agarwal, where the network was founded at ‘The New India’ International Conference.

February 2018:  There was generous institutional support from the University of Córdoba, Spain where the network’s first major conference, ‘Precarity, Populism and Post-Truth Politics’ was held. ,

February 2019:  At Auro University, Gujerat, India where the ‘Challenging Precarity conference (February 2019),  the network was supported generously by the then Vice-Chancellor Avidhesh Singh.

January 2020: Tor Vergata, University of Rome, in the ‘Precarious Lives: Uncertain Futures’ conference held in January 2020.

May 2020:  The  virtual conference, ‘Imagining the Post-Coronavirus World’,was hosted by Auro University.

February 2022: The Virtual Conference “Planetary Precarity, Future Habitability” hosted by Bennett University 

These feats of organisation and convening have come from  dedicated members, Cristina M. Gámez-Fernández (University of Córdoba), Om Prakash Dwivedi (formerly of Auro University) and Elisabetta Marino (University of Rome, Tor Vergata).

Other distinguished members and keynote speakers include the writer Tabish Khair (Aarhus University, Denmark), who was awarded the inaugural A.K. Singh Memorial Award for Best Fiction at the Tor Vergata Conference in 2020; Elleke Boehmer (Oxford), John McLeod (Leeds), Johan Hoglund (Linnaeus University, Sweden), Bashabi Fraser (Edinburgh Napier University), Peter Arnds (Trinity College Dublin), Lisa Bloom (University of California, Berkeley, USA), Veronica Thompson (Athabasca University, Canada), Scott Slovic (University of Idaho, USA), Nancy Batty (Red Deer College, Canada), Cheryl Stobie (University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa) and Dieter Riemenschneider (Frankfurt).

en English